CAREXIL-FR

CARtas de REpublicanos Españoles REfugiados y EXILiados en FRancia

Letters from Spanish Republican Refugees and Exiles in France

Work in progress

The project

CAREXIL-FR proposes the digital edition and the sociolinguistic and historical study of letters written by Spanish refugees interned in French camps at the end of the Spanish War. These letters are kept in the National Archives, at Pierrefitte sur Seine.


The letters

These letters, unpublished until now, were written mostly by women, some also by men, of various ages and origins, and are dated between February 1939, coinciding with the Retirada, when about 500.000 people left Spanish territory fleeing the Francoist army, and the summer of 1940. The letters have been kept in the archives of the CAEERF (Commission d'Aide aux Enfants Espagnols Réfugiés en France), a private organisation recognised by French Government and Spanish institutions in exile, which actively supported Spanish refugees, in particular by providing material assistance (clothing, shoes, food) to the thousands of refugees interned in makeshift camps.
These are letters of appeal for help, in which the authors take the pen out of necessity, in many cases leaving evidence of their lack of familiarity with the formal writing required by the type of epistolary text they are writing. For many of them, we also keep the response that the CAEERF sent them, including new information on the situation of refugee families.

Aims

This collection therefore offers exceptional material for the study of the linguistic repertoires available among refugees, representative of broad sectors of Spanish society at the time, and of how diastratic and diaphasic varieties overlap within texts belonging to a very homogeneous typology (letters of formal request). More generally, these letters inform us about the history of the Spanish language at a crucial moment for Spain.
Beyond the linguistic and sociolinguistic interest, they allow us to approach the history, still insufficiently known and recognised, of a part of the Spanish people and the difficult conditions in which their exile to France took place, from which some of them would never return.

Institutions

  • Atelier Romanités Numériques, Laboratoire d'Études Romanes, EA 4378 (Université Paris 8 · Vincennes · Saint-Denis).
  • Archivo Nacional francés (Archives nationales).
  • Études Romanes (EA 369) de la Universidad París Nanterre.
  • Université Paris Lumières.

CAREXIL-FR

CARtas de REpublicanos Españoles REfugiados y EXILiados en FRancia

Lettres de Républicains Espagnols Réfugiés et Exilés en France

Projet en cours

Le projet

Le projet CAREXIL-FR se propose l'édition numérique et l'étude sociolinguistique et historique des lettres écrites par des réfugié-e-s espagnol-e-s interné-e-s dans des camps français à la fin de la Guerre d'Espagne. Ces lettres sont conservées dans les Archives nationales, site de Pierrefitte-sur-Seine.


Les lettres

Inédites jusqu'à présent, elles ont été écrites pour la plupart par des femmes, certaines aussi par des hommes, d'âge et d'origine diverses, et sont datées entre février 1939, coïncidant avec la Retirada, quand environ 500.000 personnes quittent le territoire espagnol fuyant l'armée franquiste, et l'été 1940. Les lettres ont été conservées dans les archives de la CAEERF (Commission d'Aide aux Enfants Espagnols Réfugiés en France), organisation privée reconnue par les institutions françaises et espagnoles en exil, laquelle prêta un soutien actif aux réfugiés espagnols, notamment en apportant de l'aide matérielle (habits, chaussures, nourriture) aux milliers de réfugié-e-s interné-e-s dans des camps de fortune.
Il s'agit de lettres d'appel à l'aide, dans lesquelles les auteur-e-s prennent la plume poussé-e-s par la nécessité, laissant dans de nombreux cas la preuve de leur manque de familiarité avec l'écriture formelle requise par le type de texte épistolaire qu'ils écrivent. Nous conservons également pour beaucoup d'entre elles la réponse que la CAEERF leur envoya, comportant de nouvelles informations sur la situation que vivaient les familles réfugiées.

Objectifs

Ce fonds offre par conséquent un matériel exceptionnel pour l'étude des répertoires linguistiques disponibles parmi les personnes réfugiées, représentatives d'amples secteurs de la société espagnole, et de la manière dont les variétés diastratiques et diaphasiques se superposent au sein de textes appartenant à une typologie très homogène (lettres de requête formelle). Plus amplement, ces lettres nous renseignent sur l'histoire de la langue espagnole à un moment crucial pour l'Espagne.
Au-delà de l'intérêt linguistique et sociolinguistique, ces lettres permettent d'aborder l'histoire, encore insuffisamment connue et reconnue, d'une partie du peuple espagnol et des conditions difficiles dans lesquelles s'est déroulé son exil en France, dont certains ne reviendront jamais.

Institutions

  • Atelier Romanités Numériques, Laboratoire d'Études Romanes, EA 4378 (Université Paris 8 · Vincennes · Saint-Denis).
  • Archivo Nacional francés (Archives nationales).
  • Études Romanes (EA 369) de la Universidad París Nanterre.
  • Université Paris Lumières.